No.2 – Darwin Day Marathon, Shrewsbury Sports Village

DSC_7924

DSC_7923

 

Two down, eighteen to go !

Blimey it’s cold up north. Shrewsbury was covered in a crisp layer of frost as I arrived at Shrewsbury Sports Village, the venue for the Darwin Day Marathon so named to celebrate the great man’s birthday.

I’d not really done an awful lot to prepare for this one, partly due to the niggle I’d been managing, and partly due to the fact I was trying to get miles in and tapering at the same time. In between marathon No.1 and this, the longest run I got in was just over 16 miles, along with one of 15, one of 10 and the rest between 5 and 8, not my usual preparation but then I guess this isn’t a usual year.

I’d wrapped up well anticipating the cold but it didn’t make much difference as I was still freezing for the first 42 laps. Yep, that’s right 42 laps of a running / cycle track ! If my brain hadn’t frozen it certainly would’ve numbed after about 5 laps.

The organisation was good and the organisers friendly, but the course wasn’t particularly inspiring and became a struggle fairly early on.

I managed to keep an even pace of sub 8 minute miles for the first 19, eased off a little for a few, but by about 24 miles I kind of switched off, got chatting and had a little wander !  Despite this I managed a pretty respectable three hours and thirty five minutes, and I was certainly glad to get this one out of the way.

DSC_7925a

 

Learning points :

  • Track Marathons are tedious …. I shall not run another
  • Support from friends and family should never be underestimated …. I missed my crew on this one !
  • Someone telling you how many laps you still have to go every time you run past the eventual finish line doesn’t make for a happy Noddy
DSC_7926
 darwin-2
“Running in circles doesn’t always mean finishing where you started”
One thought on “No.2 – Darwin Day Marathon, Shrewsbury Sports Village

  1. Wow, 42 laps sound intense! I don’t blame you for not wanting to do a track marathon again, I’m not sure I would have coped! The lap countdown must have been demoralising. I hope you’ve got lots of wonderful support for the next challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

