“You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone”

Whoever came up with that quote obviously never had the opportunity to appreciate what they had.

Maybe it was an early wake up call that made me appreciate the person I miss every day, and I take some comfort from the fact that we had a great time while it lasted, and I’ll always be thankful that I had the opportunity to spend the time that I did with such a special person.

Dark days come and fortunately they do go, which got me to thinking about what I’ve got now that I can be thankful for. It goes without saying that the family I have left and friends mean so much to me and have helped keep me afloat for which I am grateful.

But if I couldn’t run I don’t know where I’d be now.

And I guess that’s where these random musings are leading. I know how lucky I am to be able to run, the places running has taken me and the people I’ve met. Running has become my own personal therapy and a lifeline.

And so I find it somewhat frustrating that I seem unable to reign myself in on runs. It’s a release, a safe place to vent my frustrations and anger …. unless you’re a careless dog owner or driver of course ! But I also know I have the potential to injure myself if I continue at the same intensity on every run, which is why I’m grateful for another wake up call.

I’ve had a bit of a niggle that I’ve been trying to manage and so I took a self-imposed rest for a week which affected me how I knew it would. I’ve gently eased myself back in and am glad to be back out on the road again.

I’m now hoping, despite a speedy 10 miles today, that my sensible head will make an appearance. I originally planned to ‘look’ at a race this year to target for a PB, but I’ve now decided that my original plan to just survive and complete the year will be my priority. Prompted by my extreme phobia of a sedentary life and humbled by peoples generosity, I feel I owe it to everyone to slow down and get them all done.

I know what it feels like to lose the most important part of my life ….. it’s not a good place to be.

Roll on Friday.

“Wisely and slow; they stumble that run fast”

One thought on ““You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone”

Leave a Reply

